Rules
Match Race Call Book

Question

Yellow and Blue enter the zone of the leeward mark overlapped with Blue as the inside right-of-way boat. As Blue's proper course at the mark includes a gybe, rule C2.9 (18.3(b)) applies to Blue.

Because of strong current and light wind, Blue's proper course would take her outside the zone before she gybes and heads back to the mark. When Blue reaches the point where her proper course is to gybe, both boats are outside the zone.

Is Blue still required by rule 18.3(b) to gybe at that moment (position 3)?