Rules |
Match Race Call Book |
In all the questions Blue has been signalled correctly as being OCS, but may be unaware that she was OCS and nevertheless continued sailing the course instead of returning and starting correctly.
Question 1
Yellow and Blue are approaching the windward mark. Blue is on port tack and Yellow is on starboard tack. Yellow bears away below her proper course but never to a course more than ninety degrees to the true wind, and passes to leeward of the mark. Blue tacks to keep clear of Yellow. Yellow tacks and rounds the mark well ahead of Blue. Flag Y is displayed. What should the call be?
Question 2
Both boats round the windward mark and bear away towards the leeward mark. Blue on starboard tack approaches Yellow on port tack. Both boats are sailing proper courses. Yellow is forced to gybe away to keep clear of Blue. Flag Y is displayed. What should the call be?
Question 3
When should boats be considered to be sailing on the same leg?