Rules |
Match Race Call Book |
Question 1
Yellow displays flag Y. Blue takes a penalty as soon as she sees Yellow's flag Y and before the umpires signal a decision. What should the call be?
Question 2
Would the answer be different if Yellow had an outstanding penalty?
Question 3
Near the end of a leg of the course to a windward mark the umpires decide to penalize Blue but delay signalling her until she has rounded the mark. However, she takes the penalty before rounding the mark. Is this allowed?
Question 4
Yellow, with a penalty, breaks a right-of-way rule, is protested by Blue, sees Blue's flag Y displayed and takes her penalty before being signalled by the umpires. At the time she sees the flag Y, she is rounding a mark. Should she take the penalty appropriate to the leg she is on or the one appropriate for the time of the umpires' signal?