Protest Decisions

  1. If the protest committee decides that a boat has broken a rule it shall disqualify her whether or not the applicable rule was mentioned in the protest. However, the boat shall not be disqualified if
    1. she is exonerated or some other penalty applies,
    2. the boat has already taken an applicable penalty, in which case she shall not be penalized further unless the penalty for a rule she broke is disqualification that is not excludable,
    3. the race is restarted or resailed, in which case rule 36 applies, or
    4. she broke a class rule and rule 60.5(d) applies.
    If a boat has broken a rule when not racing, her penalty shall apply to the race sailed nearest in time to the incident.