Question 1

Y and B are approaching the starting line to start with Y clear ahead and to leeward of B. B establishes an overlap to windward between Y and the committee boat. At position 3 Y luffs, hailing 'No room'. B responds to the luff, and in so doing makes contact with the committee boat. B protests. What should the call be?

Question 2

The Part 2 Section C Preamble states that neither rule 18 nor rule 19 applies when boats are approaching a starting mark to start. Y is therefore not required to give B room to pass the committee boat. However, rule 16.1 requires Y to give B room to keep clear when she changes course. When Y changes course after position 2 she fails to give B room to keep clear. Penalize Y.