Rules | World Sailing Case Book |
Case 101 |
Rules |
---|
Rule 20.2(c), Room to Tack at an Obstruction: Responding |
Summary: |
---|
When a boat with right of way is required to give another boat room for a manoeuvre, right of way does not transfer to the boat entitled to room. When, in reply to her call for room to tack when approaching an obstruction, a boat is hailed ‘You tack’, and when she does so and is then able to tack again to keep clear in a seamanlike way, the other boat has given the room required. |
Facts: |
---|
and B were International Dragons. A was approaching the shore closehauled on starboard tack, clear ahead and on a track to leeward of B. A hailed for room to tack, and B replied ‘You tack’. A tacked and B held her course. A was then on a collision course with B and tacked again. Both of A’s tacks were made in a normal, seamanlike way. After A’s second tack she was overlapped to leeward of B. Shortly afterwards B tacked and A did likewise. A protested B for not giving room as required by rule 20.2(c). The protest committee concluded that B failed to give A ‘room to tack and avoid her’, and disqualified B, stating that she had ‘failed to keep clear of A after her tack.’ B appealed. |
Decision: |
---|
B’s appeal is upheld, and she is to be reinstated. A’s actions show that she
had room to tack and avoid B. B therefore met her obligation under rule
20.2(c). It is important to distinguish a requirement to keep clear from a requirement to give room. When a boat with right of way is required to give another boat room for a manoeuvre, right of way does not transfer to the boat entitled to room. After A tacked onto port tack, B was not required to keep clear of A; instead, it was A that was required by rule 10 to keep clear of B. B was only required by rule 20.2(c) to give A room to tack and avoid B, and B did so. |