Rules | World Sailing Case Book |
Case 146 |
Rules |
---|
Definitions, Room |
Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped |
Rule 16.1, Changing Course |
Part 2, Section C Preamble |
Rule 43.1(a), Exoneration |
Rule 43.1(b), Exoneration |
Summary: |
---|
When boats are approaching a starting mark to start and a leeward boat luffs, the windward boat is exonerated by rule 43.1(b) if she breaks rule 11 while sailing within the room to which she is entitled under rule 16.1. |
Facts: |
---|
Two boats, L and W, were approaching the race committee signal vessel,
overlapped on starboard tack, ten seconds before the starting signal. As W
was passing astern of the committee vessel, L luffed. W luffed slightly but
was unable to respond further to L’s luff without hitting the committee
vessel. L bore away to avoid contact. L protested.
![]() |
Decision: |
---|
The race committee vessel was both a mark and an obstruction for L and W
(see the definitions Mark and Obstruction). However, because the
committee vessel was surrounded by navigable water and L and W were
approaching it to start, the rules in Section C of Part 2 (specifically rules 18
and 19) did not apply. Accordingly, L was under no obligation to give W
room to pass to leeward of the committee vessel. At positions 1 and 2, L was able to sail her course with no need to take avoiding action and could change course in both directions without immediate contact. Therefore, W was keeping clear as required by rule 11 (see the definition Keep Clear). When L luffed at position 3, she was required by rule 16.1 to give W room to keep clear. This obligation applies even when boats are passing the committee vessel and are about to start. ‘Room’ is the space W needed to keep clear of L while also complying with her obligations under the rules of Part 2, which includes rule 14, and rule 31. See Case 114. When L luffed, W luffed as far as she could without risk of touching the committee vessel which would have broken rule 31. By bearing away, L gave W room to keep clear as required by rule 16.1. At position 3, L was unable to ‘sail her course with no need to take avoiding action;’ therefore, W broke rule 11. However, W’s breach was a consequence of the incident (shown in the diagram) with L, ‘a boat required to give [W] room’; and, because W was sailing within the room to which she was entitled under rule 16.1, she was exonerated by rule 43.1(b). W’s appeal is upheld, the decision of the protest committee is reversed, and W is reinstated in her finishing place. Note: The term ‘barging’ is not used in The Racing Rules of Sailing. The term is commonly used to refer to the situation where a leeward boat is holding her course and a windward boat chooses to sail between the committee vessel and the leeward boat and either hits the leeward boat or forces her to bear off to avoid contact. In such a case the windward boat breaks rule 11 and is not exonerated because she was not compelled to sail between the committee vessel and the leeward boat and she was not sailing within room to which she was entitled (see rules 43.1(a) and 43.1(b)). |