Rules
Rule 13, While Tacking
Summary:
A boat is no longer subject to rule 13 when she is on a close hauled course, regardless of her movement through the water or the sheeting of her sails.
Question:
Rule 13 applies until the tacking boat 'is on a close-hauled course'. However, the rule does not say whether the boat must be moving when she assumes a close-hauled course. Is it intended that, at the moment rule 13 ceases to apply, the boat must actually be moving through the water on a close-hauled course and not merely be on such a course?
Answer:
A boat is no longer subject to rule 13 when she is on a close-hauled course, regardless of her movement through the water or the sheeting of her sails.