B’s appeal is upheld. Paragraph (d) of the definition Rule makes it clear that
class rules apply to a race. Class rules may change racing rules, but only the
rules listed in rule 86.1(c) and, with the approval of World Sailing, a rule in
Appendix G (see rule G5). Rule 61 is not one of those rules, and therefore
class rule 5, which attempts to change rule 61.1, is not valid and cannot
apply. The sailing instructions might have changed rule 61.1 as permitted in
rule 86.1(b), but did not do so. Therefore, A’s protest was invalid and should
have been refused. Accordingly, the protest committee’s decisions are
reversed, and the two boats are reinstated in their finishing places.
|