S as the starboard-tack boat has right of way under rule 10, and P as the
port-tack boat must keep clear. Rule 15 applies only briefly after S becomes
the right-of-way boat, but rule 16.1 continues to limit how S may change
course. S may luff provided that she does so in a way that gives P room to
keep clear, and P must be prepared to react promptly, if necessary by gybing,
to continue to keep clear. Since P has room to keep clear of S by responding
promptly when S luffs, S does not break rule 16.1. P does not keep clear and
does not avoid contact with S. P is therefore penalized for breaking rules 10
and 14.
S also breaks rule 14 because, after it became clear that P was not keeping
clear, S could have avoided the contact. However, because there was no
damage or injury she was exonerated by rule 43.1(c).
|