Before the starting signal, the two boats, A and B, reached away from the
starting line. A, moving faster, passed and was clear ahead of B at position
3. At position 4, A luffed up to close-hauled, intending to tack back to the
line, but she found that B also had luffed to a position where, had A tacked,
there would have been an immediate collision. A then bore away to gybe,
only to discover that B had borne away into a position where a gybe would
again cause collision. Finally, B gybed and headed for the starting line,
leaving A well astern.
A protested B under rule 16.1, claiming that she had been interfered with
while in the act of keeping clear. The protest committee disqualified B, who
appealed, holding that her disputed manoeuvres were legitimate means of
driving a competitor away from the starting line.
|