Rules | World Sailing Case Book |
Case 78 |
Rules |
---|
Rule 2, Fair Sailing |
Rule 41, Outside Help |
Rule 69.1(a), Misconduct: Obligation not to Commit Misconduct; Resolution |
Summary: |
---|
In a fleet race either for one-design boats or for boats racing under a handicap or rating system, a boat may use tactics that clearly interfere with and hinder another boat’s progress in the race, provided that, if she is protested under rule 2 for doing so, the protest committee finds that there was a reasonable chance of her tactics benefiting her final ranking in the event. However, she breaks rule 2, and possibly rule 69.1(a), if while using those tactics she intentionally breaks a rule. |
Facts for Question 1: |
---|
In a fleet race for one-design boats, boat A uses tactics that clearly interfere with and hinder boat B’s progress in the race. While using those tactics, A does not break any rule, except possibly rule 2 or rule 69.1(a). B protests A under rule 2. |
Question 1: |
---|
In which of the following circumstances would A’s tactics be considered
unsportsmanlike and a breach of rule 2 or of rule 69.1(a)?
|
Answer 1: |
---|
In circumstance (a), A would be in compliance with recognized principles
of sportsmanship and fair play. In circumstances (b) and (c), A would break rule 2, and possibly rule 69.1(a). In circumstance (d), both A and C would break rule 2, and possibly rule 69.1(a). In addition, by receiving help prohibited by rule 41 from A, C would also break rule 41. In circumstance (e), A would break rule 2, and possibly rule 69.1(a) because, with no good sporting reason, her actions would clearly break recognized principles of sportsmanship and fair play. |
Question 2: |
---|
Would Answer 1 be different if the boats had been racing under a handicap or rating system and if A had been faster or more manoeuvrable than B? |
Answer 2: |
---|
No. |
Question 3: |
---|
Would Answer 1 be different if, while using tactics that clearly interfered with and hindered B’s progress in the race, A had intentionally broken a rule? |
Answer 3: |
---|
Yes. Whenever a boat intentionally breaks a rule, she also breaks rule 2, and possibly rule 69.1(a). |