Rules | World Sailing Case Book |
Case 138 |
Rules |
---|
Rule 2, Fair Sailing |
Rule 69, Misconduct |
Summary: |
---|
Generally, an action by a competitor that directly affects the fairness of the competition or failing to take an appropriate penalty when the competitor is aware of breaking a rule, should be considered under rule 2. Any action, including a serious breach of rule 2 or any other rule, that the committee considers may be an act of misconduct should be considered under rule 69. |
Question 1: |
---|
When there has been an action by a person that might be considered to be bad sportsmanship or misconduct, what actions might constitute misconduct? |
Answer 1: |
---|
Rule 69 covers all acts of misconduct, and may range from a very minor
misdemeanour to a very significant act of bad sportsmanship or bringing the
sport into disrepute. The following actions should be considered as
examples of acts of misconduct, but they are not exclusive examples and
this is not a definitive list:
|
Question 2: |
---|
When should a protest committee proceed under rule 2 and when should it proceed under rule 69? |
Answer 2: |
---|
A boat may be protested for a breach of rule 2 and the protest committee is
required to hear and decide the protest. To uphold a protest for an alleged
breach of rule 2, the protest committee is required to clearly establish that a
boat has not competed in compliance with recognized principles of
sportsmanship and fair play. It follows that the action must directly involve
the competition for a breach of rule 2 to be established. A protest committee may protest a boat for a breach of rule 2, but it may decide that action under rule 69 is more appropriate, or in some circumstances action under both. Generally, an allegation of an action that directly affects the competition should be subject to protest under rule 2. An action that is considered to be an act of misconduct and that does not directly affect the competition should be subject to action under rule 69. A protest and the subsequent hearing under any rule, including rule 2, may reveal conduct that the protest committee considers to be an act of misconduct. In that case it may be appropriate for the protest committee to take separate action under rule 69. |
Facts for Question 3: |
---|
A boat is sailing upwind on port tack and attempts to cross ahead of a boat on starboard tack. The port-tack boat misjudges the cross and fails to keep clear. |
Question 3: |
---|
Has the port-tack boat intentionally broken a rule? |
Answer 3: |
---|
No. A misjudgment such as this is common during a race and is not unfair
sailing or an act of misconduct. In order for it to be unfair sailing or an act
of misconduct, there must be evidence that the boat knew or should have
known that she would not make the cross and attempted to do so anyway. However, when the port-tack boat realizes that she has failed to keep clear, she has knowingly broken a rule and must take the appropriate penalty. Otherwise she has broken a recognized principle of sportsmanship (see the first Basic Principle, Sportsmanship and the Rules). |