Case 1
|
A boat that breaks a rule while racing but continues to race may
protest over a later incident, even though after the race she is
penalized for her breach.
|
Case 2
|
This case covers a situation involving two boats at a downwind
mark in which a boat clear astern reaches the zone before a boat
clear ahead. In that situation the boat clear ahead is required by
rule 18.2(a)(2) to give mark-room to the boat clear astern.
|
Case 3
|
A leeward port-tack boat, hailing for room to tack when faced
with an oncoming starboard-tack boat, an obstruction, is not
required to anticipate that the windward boat will fail to comply
with her obligation to tack promptly or otherwise provide room.
|
Case 4
|
A competitor may hold a sheet outboard.
|
Case 5
|
A boat that is anchored during a race is still racing. A boat does
not break rule 42.1 or rule 45 if, while pulling in her anchor line
to recover the anchor, she returns to her position at the time the
anchor was lowered. However, if pulling in the anchor line
clearly propels her to a different position, she breaks those
rules.
|
Case 6
|
A starboard-tack boat that tacks after a port-tack boat has borne
away to go astern of her does not necessarily break a rule.
|
Case 7
|
When, after having been clear astern, a boat becomes
overlapped to leeward within two of her hull lengths of the other
boat, the windward boat must keep clear, but the leeward boat
must initially give the windward boat room to keep clear and
must not sail above her proper course. The proper course of the
windward boat is not relevant.
|
Case 8
|
Repeated helm movements to position a boat to gain speed on
each of a series of waves generated by a passing vessel are not
sculling unless they are forceful, and the increase in speed is the
result of a permitted use of the water to increase speed.
|
Case 9
|
When a starboard-tack boat chooses to sail past a windward
mark, a port-tack boat must keep clear. There is no rule that
requires a boat to sail a proper course.
|
Case 10
|
If a boat hails 'Room to tack' when she is neither approaching
an obstruction nor sailing close-hauled or above, she breaks
rule 20.1. The hailed boat is required to respond even if the hail
breaks rule 20.1.
|
Case 11
|
When boats are overlapped at an obstruction, including an
obstruction that is a right-of-way boat, the outside boat must
give the inside boat room between her and the obstruction.
|
Case 12
|
In determining the right of an inside boat to mark-room under
rule 18.2(a)(1), it is irrelevant that boats are on widely differing
courses, provided that an overlap exists when the first of them
reaches the zone.
|
Case 13
|
Before her starting signal, a leeward boat does not break a rule
by sailing a course higher than the windward boat's course.
|
Case 14
|
When, because of a difference of opinion about a leeward boat's
proper course, two boats on the same tack converge, the
windward boat must keep clear. Two boats on the same leg
sailing near one another may have different proper courses.
|
Case 15
|
In tacking to round a mark, a boat clear ahead must comply with
rule 13; a boat clear astern is entitled to hold her course and
thereby prevent the other from tacking.
|
Case 16
|
Deleted
|
Case 17
|
A boat is no longer subject to rule 13 when she is on a close
hauled course, regardless of her movement through the water or
the sheeting of her sails.
|
Case 18
|
Deleted
|
Case 19
|
Interpretation of the term 'damage'.
|
Case 20
|
When it is possible that a boat is in danger, another boat that
gives help is entitled to redress, even if her help was not asked
for or if it is later found that there was no danger.
|
Case 21
|
When a right-of-way boat is obligated to give mark-room to a
boat overlapped inside her, there is no maximum or minimum
amount of space that she must give. The amount of space that
she must give depends significantly on the existing conditions
including wind and sea conditions, the speed of the inside boat,
the sails she has set and her design characteristics.
|
Case 22
|
A written protest does not need to identify a rule that the
protestor believes was broken. If it does identify such a rule, it is
not relevant to the validity of the protest that the protest
committee decides that a different rule had been broken.
|
Case 23
|
On a run, rule 19 does not apply to a starboard-tack boat that
passes between two port-tack boats ahead of her. Rule 10
requires both port-tack boats to keep clear of her.
|
Case 24
|
When a boat becomes overlapped to leeward from clear astern,
the other boat must act promptly to keep clear. When she cannot
do so in a seamanlike way, she has not been given room as
required by rule 15.
|
Case 25
|
After an inside overlapped windward boat has been given mark
room, rule 18 no longer applies, but rule 11 continues to apply.
The inside windward boat must keep clear of the outside leeward
boat, and the leeward boat may luff provided that she gives the
windward boat room to keep clear.
|
Case 26
|
A right-of-way boat need not act to avoid a collision until it is
clear that the other boat is not keeping clear. However, if the
right-of-way boat could then have avoided the collision and the
collision resulted in damage, she must be penalized for breaking
rule 14.
|
Case 27
|
A boat is not required to anticipate that another boat will break
a rule. When a boat acquires right of way as a result of her own
actions, the other boat is entitled to room to keep clear.
|
Case 28
|
When one boat breaks a rule and, as a result, causes another to
touch a mark, the other boat is exonerated. The fact that a
starting mark has moved, for whatever reason, does not relieve a
boat of her obligation to start. A race committee may abandon
under rule 32.1(c) only when the change in the mark's position
has directly affected the safety or fairness of the competition.
|
Case 29
|
A leeward boat is an obstruction to an overlapped windward
boat and a third boat clear astern. The boat clear astern may
sail between the two overlapped boats and be entitled to room
from the windward boat between her and the leeward boat,
provided that the windward boat has been able to give that room
from the time the overlap began.
|
Case 30
|
A boat clear astern that is required to keep clear but collides
with the boat clear ahead breaks the right-of-way rule that was
applicable before the collision occurred. A boat that loses right
of way by unintentionally changing tack is nevertheless required
to keep clear.
|
Case 31
|
When the correct visual recall signal for individual recall is
made but the required sound signal is not, and when a recalled
boat in a position to hear a sound signal does not see the visual
signal and does not return, she is entitled to redress. However, if
she realizes she is on the course side of the line she must return
and start correctly.
|
Case 32
|
A competitor is entitled to look exclusively to the notice of race
or to written sailing instructions for all details relating to sailing
the course. If the race committee wants to change the direction
in which boats are required to cross the finishing line to finish,
this must be stated in the sailing instructions. When a boat fails
to finish correctly because of a race committee error, but none
of the boats racing gains or loses as a result, an appropriate and
fair form of redress is to score all the boats in the order they
crossed the finishing line.
|
Case 33
|
When a boat approaching an obstruction hails 'Room to tack',
but does so before the time when she needs to begin the process
described in rule 20 to avoid the obstruction safely, she breaks
rule 20.1(a). However, even if the hail breaks rule 20.1(a), the
hailed boat must respond. An inside overlapped boat is entitled
to room between the outside boat and an obstruction under rule
19.2(b) even though she has tacked into the inside overlapping
position.
|
Case 34
|
Hindering another boat may be a breach of rule 2 and the basis
for granting redress and for action under rule 69.2.
|
Case 35
|
When a boat hails 'Room to tack' at an obstruction and the
hailed boat replies 'You tack', and the hailing boat is then able
to tack and avoid the hailed boat in a seamanlike way, the hailed
boat has complied with rule 20.2(c).
|
Case 36
|
Positioning of crew members relative to lifelines.
|
Case 37
|
Each race of an event is a separate race. In a multi-class
event, abandonment may be suitable for some classes, but
not for all.
|
Case 38
|
The International Regulations for Preventing Collisions at Sea
(IRPCAS) are intended to ensure the safety of vessels at sea by
precluding situations that might lead to collisions. When the
IRPCAS right-of-way rules replace the rules of Part 2, they
effectively prohibit a right-of-way boat from changing course
towards the boat obligated to keep clear when she is close to
that boat.
|
Case 39
|
A race committee is not required to protest a boat. The primary
responsibility for enforcing the rules lies with the competitors.
|
Case 40
|
Unless otherwise specifically stated in the class rules, notice of
race or sailing instructions, the owner or other person in charge
of a boat is free to decide who steers her in a race, provided that
rule 46 is not broken.
|
Case 41
|
A discussion of how rule 19.2(b) and the definitions Obstruction,
Continuing Obstruction, and Clear Astern and Clear Ahead;
Overlap apply when two overlapped boats on the same tack
overtake and pass to leeward of a boat ahead on the same tack.
There is no obligation to hail for room at an obstruction, but it is
prudent to do so.
|
Case 42
|
Deleted
|
Case 43
|
A close-hauled port-tack boat that is sailing parallel and close
to an obstruction must keep clear of a boat that has completed
her tack to starboard and is approaching on a collision course.
|
Case 44
|
A boat is not permitted to protest a race committee for breaking
a rule. However, if she tries to do so, her 'protest' may meet the
requirements of a request for redress, in which case the protest
committee shall treat it accordingly.
|
Case 45
|
Deleted
|
Case 46
|
A leeward boat is entitled to luff to her proper course, even when
she has established a leeward overlap from clear astern and
within two of her hull lengths of the windward boat.
|
Case 47
|
A boat that deliberately hails 'Starboard' when she knows she is
on port tack has not acted fairly, and has broken rule 2.
|
Case 48
|
Part 5 of the racing rules aims to protect a boat from being
unfairly treated, not to provide loopholes for protestees. A
protestee has a duty to protect herself by acting reasonably
before a hearing.
|
Case 49
|
When two protests arise from the same incident, or from very
closely connected incidents, they should be heard together in
the presence of representatives of all the boats involved.
|
Case 50
|
When a protest committee finds that in a port-starboard
incident S did not change course and that there was not a
genuine and reasonable apprehension of collision on the
part of S, it should dismiss her protest. When the committee
finds that S did change course and that there was reasonable
doubt that P could have crossed ahead of S if S had not
changed course, then P should be disqualified.
|
Case 51
|
A protest committee must find that boats were exonerated at
the time of the incident when, as a result of another boat’s
breach of a rule, they were compelled to break a rule.
|
Case 52
|
Rule 16.1 does not restrict the course of a keep-clear boat.
Manoeuvring to drive another boat away from the starting
line does not necessarily break this rule.
|
Case 53
|
A boat clear ahead need not take any action to keep clear
before being overlapped to leeward from clear astern.
|
Case 54
|
Interpretation of rule 20’s requirements for hails and signals
and their timing.
|
Case 55
|
Withdrawn for Revision
|
Case 56
|
Deleted
|
Case 57
|
When a current, properly authenticated certificate has been
presented in good faith by an owner who has complied with
the requirements of rule 78.1, the final results of a race or
series must stand, even though the certificate is later
withdrawn.
|
Case 58
|
If a buoy or other object specified in the sailing instructions
as a finishing-line limit mark is on the post-finish side of the
finishing line, a boat may leave it on either side.
|
Case 59
|
When a boat comes abreast of a mark but is outside the zone,
and when her change of course towards the mark results in
a boat that is in the zone and that was previously clear astern
becoming overlapped inside her, rule 18.2(a) requires her to
give mark-room to that boat, whether or not her distance
from the mark was caused by giving mark-room to other
boats overlapped inside her.
|
Case 60
|
Withdrawn for Revision
|
Case 61
|
When the decision of a protest committee is changed or
reversed upon appeal, the final standings and the awards
must be adjusted accordingly.
|
Case 62
|
Deleted
|
Case 63
|
At a mark, when space is made available to a boat that is not
entitled to it, she may, at her own risk, take advantage of the
space.
|
Case 64
|
Deleted
|
Case 65
|
When a boat knows that she has broken the Black Flag rule,
she is obliged to retire promptly. When she does not do so
and then deliberately hinders another boat in the race, she
commits a breach of sportsmanship and of rule 2, and her
helmsman commits an act of misconduct.
|
Case 66
|
Deleted
|
Case 67
|
When a boat is racing and meets a vessel that is not, both
are bound by the government right-of-way rules. When,
under those rules, the boat racing is required to keep clear
but intentionally hits the other boat, her helmsman commits
an act of misconduct.
|
Case 68
|
The failure of a race committee to discover that a rating
certificate is invalid does not entitle a boat to redress. A boat
that may have broken a rule and that continues to race
retains her rights under the racing rules, including her rights
under the rules of Part 2 and her rights to protest and
appeal, even if she is later disqualified.
|
Case 69
|
Momentum of a boat after her preparatory signal that is the
result of being propelled by her engine before the signal does
not break rule 42.1.
|
Case 70
|
Withdrawn for Revision
|
Case 71
|
Withdrawn for Revision
|
Case 72
|
Discussion of the word ‘flag’.
|
Case 73
|
When rule 18 applies, the rules of Sections A and B apply as
well. When an inside overlapped right-of-way boat must
gybe at a mark, she is entitled to sail her proper course until
she gybes. A starboard-tack boat that changes course does
not break rule 16.1 if she gives a port-tack boat adequate
space to keep clear and the port-tack boat fails to take
advantage of it promptly.
|
Case 74
|
There is no rule that dictates how the helmsman or crew of
a leeward boat must sit. Contact with a windward boat does
not break rule 2 unless the helmsman’s or crew’s position is
deliberately misused.
|
Case 75
|
When rule 18 applies, the rules of Sections A and B apply as
well. When an inside overlapped right-of-way boat must
gybe at a mark, she is entitled to sail her proper course until
she gybes. A starboard-tack boat that changes course does
not break rule 16.1 if she gives a port-tack boat adequate
space to keep clear and the port-tack boat fails to take
advantage of it promptly.
|
Case 76
|
Withdrawn for Revision
|
Case 77
|
Contact with a mark by a boat’s equipment constitutes
touching it. A boat obligated to keep clear does not break a
rule when touched by a right-of-way boat’s equipment that
moves unexpectedly out of normal position.
|
Case 78
|
In a fleet race either for one-design boats or for boats racing
under a handicap or rating system, a boat may use tactics
that clearly interfere with and hinder another boat’s
progress in the race, provided that, if she is protested under
rule 2 for doing so, the protest committee finds that there was
a reasonable chance of her tactics benefiting her final
ranking in the event. However, she breaks rule 2, and
possibly rule 69.1(a), if while using those tactics she
intentionally breaks a rule.
|
Case 79
|
When a boat has no reason to know that part of her hull
crossed the starting line early and the race committee fails
to signal ‘Individual recall’ promptly, yet scores her OCS,
this is an error that significantly worsens the boat’s score
through no fault of her own, and therefore entitles her to
redress.
|
Case 80
|
Deleted
|
Case 81
|
When a boat entitled to mark-room under rule 18.2(b) passes
head to wind, rule 18.2(b) ceases to apply and she must
comply with the applicable rule of Section A.
|
Case 82
|
When a finishing line is laid so nearly in line with the last
leg that it cannot be determined which is the correct way to
cross it in order to finish according to the definition, a boat
may cross the line in either direction and her finish is to be
recorded accordingly.
|
Case 83
|
Repeated sail trimming with a competitor’s torso outside the
lifelines is not permitted.
|
Case 84
|
Deleted
|
Case 85
|
If a racing rule is not one of the rules listed in rule 86.1(c),
class rules are not permitted to change it. If a class rule
attempts to change such a rule, that class rule is not valid
and does not apply.
|
Case 86
|
Deleted
|
Case 87
|
A right-of-way boat need not act to avoid contact until it is
clear that the other boat is not keeping clear
|
Case 88
|
A boat may avoid contact and yet fail to keep clear.
|
Case 89
|
Except on a windsurfer or a kiteboard, a competitor may not
wear or otherwise attach to his person a beverage container.
|
Case 90
|
When a boat’s string passes a mark on the required side, she
does not break rule 28.1 if her string, when drawn taut, also
passes that mark on the non-required side.
|
Case 91
|
A boat required to keep clear must keep clear of another
boat’s equipment out of its normal position when the
equipment has been out of its normal position long enough
for the equipment to have been seen and avoided.
|
Case 92
|
When a right-of-way boat changes course, the keep-clear
boat is required to act only in response to what the right-ofway boat is doing at the time, not what the right-of-way boat
might do subsequently.
|
Case 93
|
If a boat luffs immediately after she becomes overlapped to
leeward of another boat and there is no seamanlike action
that would enable the other boat to keep clear, the boat that
luffs breaks rules 15 and 16.1. The other boat breaks rule 11,
but is exonerated.
|
Case 94
|
Deleted
|
Case 95
|
If two overlapped boats on the same tack are on a beat to
windward and are subject to rule 18.2(b), rule 18 ceases to
apply when either of them turns past head to wind. When a
boat is required to give another boat mark-room, the space
she must give includes space for the other boat to comply
with rule 31. When the boat entitled to mark-room is
compelled to touch the mark while sailing within the mark-
room to which she is entitled, she is exonerated for her
breach of rule 31.
|
Case 96
|
When after a general recall a boat learns from seeing her
sail number displayed that she has been disqualified by the
race committee under the second sentence of rule 30.4 and
believes the race committee has made a mistake, her only
option is not to start, and then to seek redress. However, if
the race committee does not display her sail number and she
sails in the restarted race, she should be scored BFD, and
not DNE.
|
Case 97
|
The use of a jockey pole attached to a spinnaker guy is
permitted.
|
Case 98
|
The rules listed in the definition Rule apply to races
governed by The Racing Rules of Sailing whether or not the
notice of race explicitly states that they apply. A rule in the
notice of race or the sailing instructions, provided it is
consistent with any prescription to rule 88.2, may change
some or all of the prescriptions of the national authority.
Generally, the notice of race may not change a class rule.
When a boat races under a handicapping or rating system,
the rules of that system apply, and some or all of her class
rules may apply as well. When the notice of race conflicts
with the sailing instructions, neither takes precedence.
|
Case 99
|
The fact that a boat required to keep clear is out of control
does not entitle her to exoneration for breaking a rule of Part
2. When a right-of-way boat becomes obliged by rule 14 to
‘avoid contact . . . if reasonably possible’ and the only way
to do so is to crash-gybe, she does not break the rule if she
does not crash-gybe. When a boat’s penalty under rule
44.1(b) is to retire, and she does so (whether because of
choice or necessity), she cannot then be disqualified.
|
Case 100
|
When a boat asks for and receives tactical racing advice she
receives outside help, even if she asks for and receives it on
a public radio channel.
|
Case 101
|
When a boat with right of way is required to give another
boat room for a manoeuvre, right of way does not transfer to
the boat entitled to room. When, in reply to her call for room
to tack when approaching an obstruction, a boat is hailed
‘You tack’, and when she does so and is then able to tack
again to keep clear in a seamanlike way, the other boat has
given the room required.
|
Case 102
|
When a boat asks for and receives tactical racing advice she
receives outside help, even if she asks for and receives it on
a public radio channel.
|
Case 103
|
The phrase ‘seamanlike way’ in the definition Room refers
to boat-handling that can reasonably be expected from a
competent, but not expert, crew of the appropriate number
for the boat.
|
Case 104
|
Attempting to distinguish between facts and conclusions in a
protest committee's findings is sometimes unsatisfactory
because findings may be based partially on fact and partially
on a conclusion. A national authority can change a protest
committee’s decision and any other findings that involve
reasoning or judgment, but not its findings of fact. A national
authority may derive additional facts by logical deduction.
Neither written facts nor diagrammed facts take precedence
over the other. Protest committees must resolve conflicts
between facts when so required by a national authority.
|
Case 105
|
When two boats are running on opposite tacks, the
starboard-tack boat may change course provided she gives
the port-tack boat room to keep clear.
|
Case 106
|
When the string representing a boat’s track lies on the
required sides of finishing marks or gate marks, it is not
relevant that, when drawn taut, it also passes one of those
marks on the non-required side.
|
Case 107
|
During the starting sequence, a boat that is not keeping a
lookout may thereby fail to do everything reasonably
possible to avoid contact. Hailing is one way that a boat may
‘act to avoid contact.’ When a boat’s breach of a rule of Part
2 causes serious damage and she then retires, she has taken
the applicable penalty and is not to be disqualified for that
breach.
|
Case 108
|
When taking a penalty after touching a mark, a boat need
not complete a full 360° turn, and she may take her penalty
while simultaneously rounding the mark. Her turn to round
the mark will serve as her penalty if it includes a tack and a
gybe, if it is carried out promptly after she is no longer
touching the mark and is well clear of other boats, and when
no question of advantage arises.
|
Case 109
|
The IRPCAS or government right-of-way rules apply
between boats that are racing only if a rule in the notice of
race says so, and in that case all of the Part 2 rules are
replaced. An IRPCAS or government rule, other than a
right-of-way rule, may be made to apply by including it in
the notice of race, the sailing instructions or another
document governing the event.
|
Case 110
|
A boat physically damaged from contact with a boat that was
penalized for breaking a rule of Part 2 is eligible for redress
only if the damage itself significantly worsened her score or
place. Contact is not necessary for one boat to cause injury
or physical damage to another. A worsening of a boat’s
score or place caused by an avoiding manoeuvre is not, by
itself, grounds for redress. ‘Injury’ refers to bodily injury to
a person and, in rule 62.1(b), ‘damage’ is limited to physical
damage to a boat or her equipment.
|
Case 111
|
If a boat breaks rule 30.2 or rule 30.4 during a starting
sequence that results in a general recall, the race committee
is required to penalize her even if the race had been
postponed before that starting sequence or if, during a later
starting sequence, a postponement was signalled before the
starting signal.
|
Case 112
|
A boat that makes, and does not correct, an error in sailing
the course does not break rule 28.1 until she finishes. If a
boat makes such an error, a second boat may notify the first
that she intends to protest before the first boat finishes, or at
the first reasonable opportunity after the first boat finishes.
|
Case 113
|
An explanation of the application of rule 20 when three boats
sailing close-hauled on the same tack are approaching an
obstruction and the leeward-most boat hails for room to
tack, but cannot tack unless both boats to windward of her
tack.
|
Case 114
|
When a boat is entitled to room, the space she is entitled to
includes space for her to comply with her obligations under
the rules of Part 2 and rule 31.
|
Case 115
|
Interpretation of the word ‘new’ as used in rule 66.1.
|
Case 116
|
A discussion of redress in a situation in which a boat is
damaged early in a series, is entitled to redress under rule
62.1(b), and is prevented by the damage from sailing the
remaining races. In such a situation, to be fair to the other
boats in the series, the protest committee should ensure that
fewer than half of the race scores included in her series
score, after any exclusion(s), are based on average points.
|
Case 117
|
When three boats are on the same tack and two of them are
overlapped and overtaking the third from clear astern, if the
leeward boat astern becomes overlapped with the boat
ahead, the boat ahead is no longer an obstruction, and rule
19.2(b) does not apply. There are no situations in which a
row of boats sailing close to one another is a continuing
obstruction.
|
Case 118
|
In the definition Mark-Room, the phrase ‘room to sail to the
mark’ means space to sail promptly in a seamanlike way to
a position close to, and on the required side of, the mark.
|
Case 119
|
When a race is conducted for boats racing under a rating
system, the rating that should be used to calculate a boat’s
corrected time is her rating at the time the race is sailed. Her
score should not be changed if later the rating authority,
acting on its own volition, changes her rating.
|
Case 120
|
‘Information freely available’ in rule 41(c) is information
that is available without monetary cost and that may be
easily obtained by all boats in a race. Rule 41(c) is a rule
that may be changed for an event provided that the
procedure established in the rules is followed.
|
Case 121
|
The procedure that must be followed in order to change a
racing rule for an event is described in detail.
|
Case 122
|
An interpretation of the term ‘comfortable satisfaction’ and
an example of its use.
|
Case 123
|
When it would be clear to a competent, but not expert, sailor
at the helm of a starboard-tack boat that there is substantial
risk of contact with a port-tack boat, the starboard-tack boat
breaks rule 14 if contact occurs and there was still time for
her to change course sufficiently to avoid the contact.
|
Case 124
|
At any point in time while two boats are approaching an
obstruction, the right-of-way boat at that moment may
choose to pass the obstruction on either side provided that
she can then comply with the applicable rules.
|
Case 125
|
When an outside overlapped boat is required to give room to
one or more inside boats to pass an obstruction, the space
she gives must be sufficient to permit all the inside boats to
comply with their obligations under the rules of Part 2.
|
Case 126
|
At any point in time while two boats are approaching an
obstruction, the right-of-way boat at that moment may
choose to pass the obstruction on either side provided that
she can then comply with the applicable rules.
|
Case 127
|
A boat clears the finishing line and marks when no part of
her hull, crew or equipment is on the line, and no mark is
influencing her choice of course.
|
Case 128
|
If the race committee observes a boat make an error under
rule 28.1 in sailing the course and fail to correct that error,
it is required to score her NSC. If it observes a boat touch a
mark as she finishes, it must score in her finishing position
and it may protest her for breaking rule 31.
|
Case 129
|
When the course is shortened at a rounding mark, the mark
becomes a finishing mark. Rule 32.2(a) permits the race
committee to position the vessel displaying flag S at either
end of the finishing line. A boat must cross the line in
accordance with the definition Finish, even if in so doing she
leaves that mark on the side opposite the side on which she
would have been required to leave it if the course had not
been shortened.
|
Case 130
|
Deleted
|
Case 131
|
If a boat has broken rule 78.2 by not producing a required
certificate or arranging for its existence to be verified before
the start of the last day of an event, the race committee is
required, without a hearing, to score her ‘DSQ’ for all races
of the event.
|
Case 132
|
Interpretation of the phrase ‘on a beat to windward’.
|
Case 133
|
Withdrawn for Revision
|
Case 134
|
A boat’s proper course at any moment depends on the
existing conditions. Some of those conditions are the wind
strength and direction, the pattern of gusts and lulls in the
wind, the waves, the current, and the physical characteristics
of the boat’s hull and equipment, including the sails she is
using.
|
Case 135
|
Discussion of the decisions that a protest committee must
make if a boat breaks a rule of Part 2 by failing to keep clear,
and the right-of way boat, or a third boat, requests redress
under rule 62.1(b).
|
Case 136
|
In finding facts, a protest committee will be governed by the
weight of evidence. In general, a race committee member
sighting the starting line is better placed than any competing
boat to decide whether a boat was over the line at the
starting signal and, if so, whether she returned to the prestart side and started.
|
Case 137
|
When deciding if a conflict of interest is significant, the
protest committee should take into account the degree of
conflict, the level of the event and the overall perception of
fairness.
|
Case 138
|
Generally, an action by a competitor that directly affects the
fairness of the competition or failing to take an appropriate
penalty when the competitor is aware of breaking a rule,
should be considered under rule 2. Any action, including a
serious breach of rule 2 or any other rule, that the committee
considers may be an act of misconduct should be considered
under rule 69.
|
Case 139
|
Examples illustrating when it would be ‘appropriate’ under
rule 69.2(j)(3) to report a rule 69 incident to a national
authority or World Sailing.
|
Case 140
|
How the rules apply when a boat is compelled to cross the
starting line by another boat that was breaking a rule of Part
2.
|
Case 141
|
Interpretation of the term ‘serious’ in the phrase ‘serious
damage’.
|
Case 142
|
Deleted
|
Case 143
|
When the organizing authority for an event is not an
organization specified in rule 89.1, a party to a hearing does
not have access to the appeal process.
|
Case 144
|
Withdrawn for Revision
|
Case 145
|
A boat’s string, described in the definition Sail the Course,
when drawn taut, is to lie in navigable water only.
|
Case 146
|
When boats are approaching a starting mark to start and a
leeward boat luffs, the windward boat is exonerated by rule
43.1(b) if she breaks rule 11 while sailing within the room to
which she is entitled under rule 16.1.
|
Case 147
|
When a right-of-way boat changes course, her obligation to
give a keep-clear boat room to keep clear under rule 16.1
begins. The right-of-way boat may give that room by making
an additional change of course. If, while the right-of-way
boat is making that additional change of course, the keep-
clear boat unavoidably breaks a rule of Part 2 Section A, the
keep-clear boat is exonerated by rule 43.1(b).
|
Case 148
|
When a boat crosses the finishing line from the course side
twice, her second crossing constitutes herfinish if, at all times
between her first and second crossing, her actions are
consistent with continuing to sail the course.
|