The diagram shows the tracks of four large boats from approximately thirty
seconds before their starting signal until fifteen seconds before. At position
2, MW was forced to bear away to avoid collision with W, and almost
immediately afterwards ML and L were also forced to bear away to avoid
the boat to windward. There was no contact between any of the boats. Had
W steered a course to keep clear, she would have crossed the starting line
before her starting signal. Each boat to leeward hailed the boat to windward,
and each protested the boat or boats to windward of her.
The protest committee disqualified W, MW, and ML and justified its action
with respect to the middle boats by stating that ‘failure to do so would limit
the effectiveness of rule 11 because all boats, except the most windward
one, would be immune from disqualification.’ MW and ML both appealed.
|