Rules | World Sailing Case Book |
Case 110 |
Rules |
---|
Rule 62.1(b), Redress |
Summary: |
---|
A boat physically damaged from contact with a boat that was penalized for breaking a rule of Part 2 is eligible for redress only if the damage itself significantly worsened her score or place. Contact is not necessary for one boat to cause injury or physical damage to another. A worsening of a boat’s score or place caused by an avoiding manoeuvre is not, by itself, grounds for redress. ‘Injury’ refers to bodily injury to a person and, in rule 62.1(b), ‘damage’ is limited to physical damage to a boat or her equipment. |
Facts: |
---|
Boat B is required to keep clear of boat A. However, B collides with A, turning A 180 degrees before she is able to continue sailing to the next mark. A loses five finishing places because of the incident. She protests B and requests redress under rule 62.1(b). During the hearing, A’s protest is upheld and B is penalized. The protest committee also finds that there was physical damage to A but that the damage itself did not affect her ability to proceed in the race at normal speed. |
Question 1: |
---|
Is A entitled to redress? |
Answer 1: |
---|
No. Under rule 62.1(b), the damage itself must be the reason a boat’s score or place is made significantly worse. In this case the damage had no effect on A’s score. |
Question 2: |
---|
Must contact between the boats occur in order for redress to be granted under rule 62.1(b)? |
Answer 2: |
---|
No. A boat that suffers injury to a member of her crew or physical damage while acting to avoid contact with a boat that has broken a rule of Part 2 may be entitled to redress if the injury or damage is found to have made her score or place significantly worse and was not her fault. See also Case 135. |
Question 3: |
---|
If there had been no collision because A had been able to avoid B by changing course 180 degrees, but A lost five places as a result, would she have suffered ‘injury’ or ‘damage’ as those terms are used in rule 62.1(b)? |
Answer 3: |
---|
No. ‘Injury’ in the racing rules refers only to bodily injury to a person, and ‘damage’ is limited to physical damage to a boat or her equipment. |