Rules | World Sailing Case Book |
Case 135 |
Rules |
---|
Definitions, keep clear |
Rule 44.1(b), Penalties at the Time of an Incident: Taking a Penalty |
rule 62.1(b), Redress |
Summary: |
---|
Discussion of the decisions that a protest committee must make if a boat breaks a rule of Part 2 by failing to keep clear, and the right-of way boat, or a third boat, requests redress under rule 62.1(b). |
Facts for Question 1: |
---|
Two dinghies, P on port tack and S on starboard tack, are on a collision course on a beat to windward in strong wind (more than 20 knots). P holds her course and, when it becomes clear to S that P is not keeping clear, S immediately and rapidly tacks onto port tack to avoid P. Despite S’s attempt to avoid P, there is contact between the boats, but it does not cause damage. However, while tacking to avoid P, S capsizes and in capsizing, the helmsman falls and damages the tiller. After righting the boat, the tiller cannot be repaired and S retires from the race. S requests redress under rule 62.1(b). |
Question 1: |
---|
Is S entitled to redress if her request is valid? |
Answer 1: |
---|
Rule 62.1(b) does not require physical damage (or injury) to have been
caused directly by the boat that was breaking a rule of Part 2. It is sufficient
that any physical damage (or injury) was the probable consequence of the
action of the boat breaking a rule. In this incident, the physical damage to S was ‘serious’ because it could not be repaired on the water and, as a result, S retired from the race. Therefore, the ‘appropriate’ penalty for P was to retire (see rule 44.1(b)). S may be entitled to redress, but only if the protest committee follows this two-step procedure. First, the committee must determine that either P retired from the race after the incident, or P was protested and penalized for breaking the rule of Part 2 in the incident with S. If so, S is entitled to redress provided that the protest committee concludes that
|
Facts for Question 2: |
---|
Two boats, A and B, are on a collision course in strong winds. A is required to keep clear of B by a rule of Part 2. A holds her course and, when it becomes clear to B that A is not keeping clear, B immediately and rapidly makes a large change in course to avoid A. There is no contact between A and B. However, while manoeuvring to avoid potentially damaging contact with A, B collides with C, a third boat nearby. C is damaged and retires from the race. C requests redress under rule 62.1(b). |
Question 2: |
---|
Is C entitled to redress if her request is valid? |
Answer 1: |
---|
C may be entitled to redress, but only if the protest committee follows this
two-step procedure. First, the committee must determine that either A retired from the race after the incident, or A was protested and penalized for breaking a rule of Part 2 in the incident with B. If so, C is entitled to redress provided that the protest committee concludes that
|